Lovely, Dark, Deep, Joyce Carol Oates’s story collection from 2014 was a finalist for the 2015 Lovely, Dark, Deep: StoriesPulitzer Prize in fiction.

A rich collection of stories told from many rungs of the social ladder and distinguished by their intelligence, language and technique.

The collection includes the story “Mastiff,” selected for the Best American Short Stories series.

This is JCO’s sixth Pulitzer finalist, the previous five being: Blonde, What I Lived For, Black Water, The Wheel of Love, and them.

Other 2015 finalists were The Moor’s Account by Laila Lalami, and Let Me Be Frank With You by Richard Ford.

The winner of the 2015 Pulitzer Prize in fiction was All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr.


1 Comment »

  1. Many reviewers’ dismissive comments mystify me. Joyce Carol Oates’ work seems to draw unwarranted disdain from some reviewers, inviting me to ask, “Just what do you mean?” They don’t explain or even exemplify.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s