Joyce Carol Oates’s novel Little Bird of Heaven is one of the ten finalists for the 2011 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. She has had nine previous novels on the longlist for the award, but this is the first that has made it to the shortlist.

The 10 finalists were selected from 162 novels nominated by 166 public libraries in 126 cities and the winner will be announced on June 15.

The full list of novels, the first three by Irish writers:

Colum McCann’s ‘Let the Great World Spin’; Colm Toibin’s ‘Brooklyn’; William Trevor’s ‘Love and Summer’; ‘Galore’ by Canada’s Michael Crummey; ‘The Lacuna’ by US writer Barbara Kingsolver; ‘The Vagrants’ by Yiyun Li, a Chinese/American author; ‘Ransom’ by Australian David Malouf; ‘Little Bird of Heaven’ by American Joyce Carol Oates; ‘Jasper Jones’ by Australian Craig Silvey; ‘After the Fire, a Still, Small Voice’ by Evie Wyld, the third Australian on the list.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s