Joyce Carol Oates has won the 2009 National Book Critics Circle Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award.

JCO was an NBCC fiction finalist in 1992 for her novella Black Water; and a rare double-finalist in 2007 for both fiction (The Gravedigger’s Daughter) and autobiography (The Journal of Joyce Carol Oates: 1973-1982).

Previous recipients of the Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award have typically been critics (John Leonard; Leslie Fiedler), editors/publishers (Bill Henderson; James Laughlin; Barney Rosset; Robert Giroux), and organizations (PEN American Center; Library of America), making JCO’s award all the more singular.


1 Comment »

Leave a Reply to Shane Ryan Bailey Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s