Joyce Carol Oates’s story collection Wild Nights! is among the finalists for the 2008 Shirley Jackson Award. Other finalists in the “collection” category include A Better Angel, Chris Adrian; Dangerous Laughter, Steven Millhauser; The Diving Pool, Yoko Ogawa; The Girl on the Fridge, Etgar Keret; and Just After Sunset, Stephen King.

The Shirley Jackson Awards “have been established for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.” Winners will be announced on July 12, 2009.

Coincidentally, as reported by Elaine Showalter in an Economist interview, JCO will be editing Shirley Jackson’s work for the Library of America.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s